317 NE 1st St
Gainesville, FL  32601
fax: (352) 375-0813

call us today

(352) 375-0812

¡Hablamos Español!

Free consultation

DUI Manslaughter

Drunk driving related accidents remain a far too common occurrence in the United States. According to a 2014 CDC survey, nearly 10,000 car crash deaths were tied to alcohol-related collisions, which accounted for almost one-third of all reported driving fatalities in the country.

DUI manslaughter occurs when an individual is driving under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance and causes or contributes to a crash or accident resulting in the death of another person. In the state of Florida, the number of annual DUI related fatalities exceeds the national average.

If you or a loved one is charged with DUI manslaughter, then you should seek out a lawyer that is experienced in DUI law.


Lawyer for DUI Manslaughter in Gainesville, Florida

DUI Manslaughter is a serious offense, however, the attorneys at Galigani Law Firm will fight for the best possible result in your DUI manslaughter case. Dean Galigani has experience defending clients with a level of professionalism in alcohol-related traffic offenses such as DUI, reckless driving, and DUI manslaughter. Call us at (352) 375-0812 today for a free consultation and evaluation of your case.

Our dedicated attorneys at Galigani Law Firm in Gainesville, in Alachua County, will defend you in your DUI manslaughter case. We also represent clients throughout the surrounding counties including Bradford County, Union County, Putnam County, Marion County, Levy County, Gilchrist County, and Columbia County.

Galigani Law Firm is conveniently located near Roper Park and just six (6) minutes from the University of Florida campus in Gainesville, FL. 


What is DUI Manslaughter?

Driving under the influence (D.U.I.) when an individual has control over a vehicle and is under the influence of alcohol or illegal substances. Under Florida Statute §316.193, DUI manslaughter is a felony in the second degree which is punishable by up to fifteen (15) years in Florida State Prison.


Back to top

DUI Manslaughter Penalties

In addition to a maximum of fifteen (15) years imprisonment, this second-degree felony offense also requires a four-year minimum mandatory prison sentence and other penalties including up to a $10,000 fine and a permanent driver’s license revocation.

For individuals facing their first DUI manslaughter conviction, Florida mandates a permanent revocation of the driver’s license. In the event that that this is the offender’s first DUI conviction, after 5 years, he or she may be eligible for a hardship license.

A hardship license is an option for individuals who require transportation as part of their employment or business operations. For first-time DUI convictions, an individual may request a hardship license after the five-year waiting period, DUI school completion, and completion of any applicable treatments.

An offender must also receive a positive recommendation from the Special Supervision Services Program before applying for a hardship license. After receiving approval for a hardship license, an offender must provide said approval to the driver’s license office and pay any associated fees.

Individuals convicted of DUI offenses predating October 1, 2007 are required to pay a $15 reinstatement fee along with proof of the following:

  • $10,000 property damage liability insurance at the time of the arrest, or proof of liability coverage;
  • $20,000 of bodily injury liability insurance for each occurrence; and
  • $10,000 of bodily injury liability per person.

For individuals convicted of DUI offenses after October 1, 2007, a reinstatement license requires proof of the following:

  • Bodily injury liability insurance in the amount of $300,000 of coverage per occurrence;
  • Bodily injury liability insurance with $50,000 property damage liability; and
  • Bodily injury liability insurance worth $100,000 per person.

Individuals convicted of multiple DUI charges are not eligible for hardship licenses.


Back to top

Additional Resources

DUI Penalties under Florida Statute 316.193 - Visit the Online Sunshine website of Florida’s state legislature to find out more about DUI manslaughter charges and its related penalties. The website provides the statutory language for various DUI offenses. Also, find more information on related traffic offenses under Florida law.

Driver’s License Revocation Periods for DUI Manslaughter - Visit the website of Florida’s Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV) to find out more about permanent license revocations related to DUI manslaughter. FHSMV provides Florida drivers with state laws to ensure compliance with state traffic laws. Also, find more information on hardship licenses and how to qualify for one.


Back to top

DUI Manslaughter Attorney in Gainesville, Florida

If you or a loved one was involved in an accident involving drunk driving that resulted in death or serious injury to another person, it is in your best interest to work with an experienced criminal defense attorney who can help you fight for the best result in your case.

Call Galigani Law Firm today at (352) 375-0812 for a free consultation with a skilled criminal defense attorney in Gainesville and throughout Alachua County, FL. The DUI defense attorneys at Galigani Law Firm also represent clients throughout the adjacent counties including Bradford County, Union County, Putnam County, Marion County, Levy County, Gilchrist County, and Columbia County.

<!--last updated on 11/29/2016>